PDA

View Full Version : Wrestling

pecs
04-21-2006, 12:24 PM
As well as my interest in bb I am a jujutsu instructor. I often read about such things and recently came across the following...

"Grappling for competition and grappling for survival are two very different scenarios. In the world of submission fighting the armbar, leglock or Kimura armlock maybe 'king' but outside of these sporting boundaries they will not necessarily do the job.

In my book 'Grappling with Reality', I went to great lengths to examine and explain the differences between sport grappling and combat grappling. In this article I would like to examine some of the most popular pins, holds and submissions and look at how they must be greatly adapted to survive on the pavement area.

The Guard
Everybody in the grappling world will know this position. It has become extremely popular due to the art of Brazilian Ju Jutsu. They are world class exponents of the guard skills.
In the street the guard can be utilized effectively by simply attacking the groin. This target is illegal in any competitive arena but when no rules mean no rules, it will do the job! Sit up and back in the guard and punch, grab squeeze or twist the testicles and your opponent is opening his guard instantly. Popping up in stand and punching down into the groin will soon have you passing.

If you are pulled into a tight defensive guard, biting will soon get you free. Anywhere is a 'game' target. Ears and neck being favourite. Brutal but also highly effective. It gets you instantly out of that negative 'we're both going to lie in the guard routine'. Don't also forget the trusty thumb in the eye. This always has a profound effect.